Confederate Statues

Until recently, I didn’t realize there was a motion to remove confederate statues at all. According to an article on usnews.com, protesters and local governments have been tearing them down. I feel that this is an over-reaction, or over-sensitivity, as I don’t believe in tearing down historical monuments of any kind without some kind of preservation efforts made first. I feel that these statues are not necessarily condoning what these ‘white men’ did so much as serving as reminders of the past. It’s not possible or ethical to try to remove figures from our past just because we don’t like what they did.

One thing I didn’t appreciate very much about this article was the blatant bias of the author, though it is an opinion piece, so I guess it’s not right to throw stones. Regrettably, I find myself on the side of Condoleezza Rice and Donald Trump: the statues should not be torn down. I do believe that monuments should be preserved, and I believe there should be consequences for protesters who vandalize public property. I believe that monuments and parks serve as reminders of our violent history, and are the cornerstone of our nation’s atonement. That being said, I wouldn’t mind more statues built to honor ‘non-white men’.

https://www.usnews.com/opinion/civil-wars/articles/2017-08-21/confederate-statues-honor-americas-racist-past-and-present

2 thoughts on “Confederate Statues

  1. This is very interesting. I haven’t heard about this. I agree with you. It sounds like people are over-reacting about things that have happened in the past which to me doesn’t make a lot of sense. If it doesn’t have a direct impact on an individuals current situation then why make it a big situation?

    Like

  2. I do agree with you about how it is wrong to destroy the statues. It is a very sensitive matter to discuss. But it does happen. It is just like when ISIS bombed the Syrian site of Palmyra or when they hit Iraq’s Mosul Museum and destroyed centuries-old Christian and Muslim shrines. I am not saying that any of that is alright and should not go on without punishment. it is just peoples feelings and judgement. Everyone thinks a different way. But hopefully America will grow from this. Hopefully our president will restore they statues or put different ones in their place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

